North Dakota is the latest state to pass its own version of Florida's Caylee's Law.
The House voted unanimously Thursday to endorse a bill requiring that caretakers meet deadlines in reporting children missing or dead. The bill is expected to be signed into law by Governor Jack Dalrymple (DAHL'-rimp-ul). It requires caretakers to report a child missing within 24 hours of a disappearance and to report a death within two hours.
Florida's Caylee's Law was passed following the death of 2-year-old Caylee Anthony, who was not reported missing until 31 days after vanishing in 2008. At least 11 states, including South Dakota, have enacted similar laws.
Senator Tyler Axness, a Fargo Democrat and the bill's main sponsor, says law enforcement must be notified "while there is still time to act."